Night Journey

night-train1

Here’s a poem by Theodore Roethke:

Night Journey

 

Now as the train bears west,

Its rhythm rocks the earth,

And from my Pullman berth

I stare into the night

While others take their rest.

Bridges of iron lace,

A suddenness of trees,

A lap of mountain mist

All cross my line of sight,

Then a bleak wasted place,

And a lake below my knees.

Full on my neck I feel

The straining at a curve;

My muscles move with steel,

I wake in every nerve.

I watch a beacon swing

From dark to blazing bright;

We thunder through ravines

And gullies washed with light.

Beyond the mountain pass

Mist deepens on the pane;

We rush into a rain

That rattles double glass.

Wheels shake the roadbed stone,

The pistons jerk and shove,

I stay up half the night

To see the land I love.

-bassersdorf-intercity-sbb-rapid-train-station

 

<ahref=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/a-journey/”>Journey</a&gt;

 

One thought on “Night Journey

Leave a Reply

