Strolling Down the Avenue

me-and-my-shadow

Here’s an old song:

Me and My Shadow          by Dave Dryer, Billy Rose, Al Jolson

 

Shades of night are falling and I’m lonely

Standing on the corner feeling blue

Sweethearts out for fun

Pass me one by one

Guess I’ll wind up like I always do

With only Me and my shadow Strolling down the avenue

Me and my shadow

Not a soul to tell our troubles to

And when it’s twelve o’clock

We climb the stair

We never knock

For nobody’s there

Just me and my shadow

All alone and feeling blue

When the sun sets on the far horizon

And the parlor lamps begin to glow

Jim and Jack and John

Put their slippers on They’re all…

Shades of night are falling and I’m lonely

Standing on the corner feeling blue

Sweethearts out for fun

Pass me one by one

Guess I’ll wind up like I always do With only

Me and my shadow

Strolling down the avenue

Me and my shadow

Not a soul to tell our troubles to

And when it’s twelve o’clock

We climb the stair

We never knock

For nobody’s there

Just me and my shadow

All alone and feeling blue

When the sun sets on the far horizon

And the parlor lamps begin to glow

Jim and Jack and John

Put their slippers on

They’re all set but we’restill on the go

So lonely

Me and my shadow

Strolling down the avenue

Me and my shadow

Not a soul to tell our troubles to

And when it’s twelve o’clock

We climb the stair

We never knock

For nobody’s there

Just me and my shadow

All alone and feeling blue.

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/shadow-2017/”>Shadow</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “Strolling Down the Avenue

Leave a Reply

