I reach into the ocean’s briny mouth

merlin on wire   GaleVerHagueMerlin on wire… photo by Gale VerHague

The title is a line from this poem I wrote a while ago.  It’s a poem about memory.

 

Merlin on the wire on Bayshore Road

 

The memory moves faster than the pen.

The merlin lands minutely on the wire,

But flashes off in sunlight as I near.

 

Behind my eyes are attics full of rooms

whose only access lies in photographs.

The merlin lands minutely on the wire.

 

That window overlooking maple trees,

where winter sunsets blazed in molten red,

It flashes off in sunlight as I near.

 

The snowbird that I rescued Easter day

lay stunned but blinking, heating up my hand.

The memory moves faster than the pen.

 

The morning kitchen silence breaks and hums,

The rubythroat appears, and chirps, and drinks,

he flashes off in sunlight as I near.

 

 

The face of one long dead begins to form.

I see his thick brown hair wave in the wind,

He flashes off in sunlight as I near.

 

The breath of God upon my neck, so clear

and sudden once in one of those close rooms…

The memory moves faster than the pen.

 

I reach into the ocean’s briny mouth.

My hand emerges empty, wet with tears…

The memory moves faster than the pen.

 hand reaching into ocean

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/reach/”>Reach</a&gt;

 

 

Leave a Reply

