Late Have I Loved You

I have long loved, and related to, this declaration of love for God by St. Augustine:

XHC173406
XHC173406 The Conversion of St. Augustine (tempera on panel) by Angelico, Fra (Guido di Pietro) (c.1387-1455); 22.5×34.5 cm; Musee d’Art Thomas Henry, Cherbourg, France; (add. info.: conversion from a former life of loose living; one of the four latin Fathers of the Church); Giraudon; Italian, out of copyright

 

Augustine Confessions X.27

Late have I loved you,

Beauty so ancient and so new,

late have I loved you!

Lo, you were within,

but I outside, seeking there for you,

and upon the shapely things you have made

I rushed headlong,

I, misshapen

You were with me but I was not with you

They held me back far from you,

those things which would have no being

were they not in you.

You called, shouted, broke through my deafness;

you flared, blazed, banished my blindness;

you lavished your fragrance,

I gasped, and now I pant for you;

I tasted you, and I hunger and thirst;

you touched me, and I burned for your peace.

Christian Schloe   woman on fire

Christian Schloe, Woman on Fire

 

 

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/one-love/”>One Love</a>

Leave a Reply

