Emily’s Handwriting

EmilyDickinsonangemlinko

Here’s a colorized photo of Emily Dickinson, American poet, with whimsical background that I like.

I’m embarking on a “30 poems in 30 days” adventure.  I’ve done it before; it’s more accurately “30 first drafts in 30 days.”

So I decided to write the first one on my reaction to seeing a photograph/scan of several of Emily’s most famous poems in her own handwriting:

Emily Dickinsons handwriting

So here’s my first  first draft of this series:

Emily’s Handwriting

Surprised me

So sure it would be cramped, neat

As her bedroom must have been

Though why my supposings leaned

That way,

I ask myself.

 

No,

It’s loose limbed penmanship

Penwomanoceanliner free

And unpredictable

As waves.

 

Capital A’s as large as omelets,

Loops of lowercase h’s and f’s

Longing as trebles,

Wild as clefs.

 

One thought on “Emily’s Handwriting

Leave a Reply

