Best Buy

ipod-classic-f

NaBloPoMo prompt for today:

 

What’s the best purchase you ever made?  

 

It’s actually the best purchase someone made for me. Seven years ago, when I was facing cancer treatments, my friend Patty bought me an iPod Classic.

iPod Classic

Once I overcame my fear of it, and learned how to use it, I became thoroughly enamoured.

She also gave me a gift card for Audible. I downloaded and listened to a number of books, among them:

 

This Republic of Suffering   by Drew Gilpin Faust

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The Life You Save May Be Your Own by Paul Elie

The Shadow of the Wind   by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

 

Then I began to borrow and download books from the public library. What a gift this device has been!

This doesn’t even begin to enumerate the music I listen to on this, or the TV shows and films I have watched on it, or the podcasts.

The thing as 120 GB of storage space; an incredible amount. I’ve never used it all.

I understand that Apple isn’t making/selling this model anymore; what a shame.  Too impervious to planned obsolescence, I guess.

Every time I pick it up, I breathe a prayer of thanks to my friend Patty.

So that’s it.

Leave a Reply

